Storytime Monday

August 25, 2008

I can’t believe I forgot to tell y’all this!  I talked to my grampy on Friday night – he had called me to congratulate me on Thursday night, but I was asleep – at 8 o’clock (he got a kick out of that).  Anyway, the excitement in his voice when he talked about being a great-grandpa was enough to absolutely make my heart melt.  He kind of understands what Jeff and I went through to get pregnant, that we did IVF, and we’re having a “test-tube baby”, although I corrected him and told him it would actually be a petri-dish baby, but whatever.  Here’s how our part of conversation went:

Me:  Hi Grampy, it’s Kerry!

Gramps:  Well, hi there Kerry – I tried calling you last night, but didn’t get through, so I thought I would try you back tonight – I’m glad you called!

Me:  Yeah, I’m sorry I didn’t answer last night, I was actually sleeping – at 8 p.m.!

Gramps:  That’s when folks my age go to bed…  (LOL)

Me:  I know Grandpa, I’ve just been so tired lately!

Gramps:  Well, Peggy (my mom) told me the good news – I’m going to be a great-grandpa!

Me:  Yep, pretty exciting, huh?

Gramps:  I’m so excited, I want to call the local radio station and put it out on the airwaves that I’m finally going to be a great-grandpa!!!

Me:  Well Grampy, you might want to wait a few weeks, because on Sept 9th, we’ll find out if there’s one baby, or TWO babies…

Gramps:  Oh my goodness, two babies at once, that would really be something!

Me:  Kind of scary, huh?

Gramps:  Well, I’m just tickled that I’m going to be a great-grandpa, I never thought I would see the day!

Me:  Well, sorry it took so long – we hope it will be worth the wait…

Gramps:  Oh, it will.  It will, Kerry.

How sweet is he?!?!?  I just couldn’t get over how excited he was – he just kept saying that he was so “tickled” to finally be a great-grandpa.  Awwwww!  He is my only living grandparent, so I am absolutely thrilled that he gets this opportunity when he still has his health (and that we get this opportunity to have his first great-grandchild).  Of course, Jeff and I did all of this because we wanted a child (or children) of our own, but knowing that we are making so many people happy  that this is finally happening for us means so much to us.  Hearing the joy in my mom’s voice, or the relief in Jeff’s mom’s voice when she found out that this worked was something that I won’t soon forget.

On a related note, Jeff thought it would be funny if we started a “Craving Watch” portion of the blog.  I feel like a sick, disgusting pig, but I was totally craving a Baconator from Wendy’s tonight (which I have never had, I’ve just seen it on TV…I don’t even like Wendy’s), so Jeff drove me there to get one.  And OMG, did it ever satisfy.  It was like eating a five course meal at the Barolo Grill, paired with the most perfect wine – I’m not even kidding.  Soooooo good.  I really didn’t think cravings came this early, but I have several friends that have told me to eat while I can, because soon enough the thought of a Baconator will likely make me want to vomit.  So if you’re interested in keeping up with my cravings, check out Craving Watch 2008 above. 

Kerry

4 Responses to “Storytime Monday”

  1. Katey said

    That just totally made me cry. That is so sweet that he is so excited to meet this little one (or more)!

  2. Noell said

    Awww, your Grandpa sounds so sweet!
    You go girl on indulging in your craving! It’s strange how all of the sudden something that sounded a bit repulsive before your were pregnant sounds absolutely delectable now, huh?! I think these weird cravings last until at least a few months after you have the baby too (that probably explains why I’ve been having strawberry malts like they’re out of style these past few weeks!). Jeff better get ready for those late night runs (and I don’t mean diarrhea…lol)!

  3. shawnandlarissa said

    That’s so sweet!

    And LOL on the Wendy’s run

  4. militarywifealways said

    Awww I am so happy for you and your grandfather sounds like such a sweetheart :0)

Leave a Reply

