What a day!

August 23, 2008

I had quite the busy day today!  After getting up at 6 o’clock this morning for my daily PIO injection, I couldn’t fall back to sleep.  I ate some cereal, did some laundry, and cuddled with Rex on the couch for a while.  I had a really sore throat, and thought I was getting sick, but I think it’s just this insatiable thirst that I’ve had the last few days that’s getting me (I feel like I have CONSTANT cotton mouth, sooo annoying). 

Later in the morning, I was talking to my friend, Molly, and we decided to go to the mall and go shopping (I need something) to help make my clothes more comfortable with all of this IVF bloat.  I had to be on the north side of town anyway, because my buddy, Liz, was having a party to celebrate her little girl’s first birthday today!  I had a blast shopping with Molly!  I went into three maternity stores (well, really only one maternity store, and two maternity departments in stores), and it was a much better experience than last time I went.  I got really teary, and actually cried a little bit in the second (and third) stores, but this time I was so emotional because I just cannot believe how incredibly lucky I am that this is really happening to us.  Thankfully, Molly was there to give me a hug and congratulate me, telling me that I “belonged” in there – she’s too sweet!  Thanks, Mol!  I actually bought several shirts, but only because they will help to hide the little bloating I have going on right now (and they weren’t ridiculously expensive).  I also bought two “tummy tubes”, which are these AWESOME little bands you put over your unbuttoned, unzipped jeans, and they help to hold them up, while smoothing everything out!  Soooo much better than the hair ties I was using!!!  Anyway, I know it’s a little early to be buying maternity clothes, but give a girl a break – I am bloated, uncomfortable, and I’ve been waiting for this moment for a long ass time!

Then, we were off to Avery’s first birthday party, and what a party it was!  I got to see a few of my friends (and their husbands and kiddos) there, and everyone was congratulating me, and hugging me – I felt like I was taking the attention away from the birthday girl for a few moments, but it was great regardless.  The party was fun, but man was I tired from the long day I had!  Molly and I took off (thanks for the cupcakes and bag o’ maternity clothes to-go, Liz), and I was finally headed home…until I decided to meet up with my cooking club since it was kind of sort of “on the way” home, and they were meeting at a Greek restaurant down the street from our house.  It was great to see those ladies, too, and be congratulated in person – once again, center of attention, which you all know I love!

Now I’m home.  The dogs are fed, Rex has his meds, I’m in my jammies, and it’s time for bed.  And I am going to try desperately to go back to sleep tomorrow after the PIO shot, so I can be on my A-game when Jeff gets home in the afternoon!

Kerry

3 Responses to “What a day!”

  1. Molly said

    I had fun too! Isn’t it fun to *belong* in the maternity store!? 🙂
    Ok and Patrick got a kick out of my pull-up jeans. Panels are so hawt.
    Thanks for checking out my ass for me and making sure the maternity jeans didn’t give me diaper-butt. Couldn’t have done it without ya 🙂

  2. ehiwv said

    i’m so glad you could come, and i hope the maternity clothes work out for you. i have plenty more, and i won’t be needing them any time soon.

  3. Angie said

    It was so nice seeing you Saturday night. I’m so glad I could tell you congrats face-to-face. I loved making you the center of attention, I’m just so freaking excited for you!!

Leave a Reply

