I’m 4 weeks and 5 days pregnant today!

August 22, 2008

You know, actually saying, out loud (or typing it out), that I’m “pregnant” will never get old.  Ever.  I can’t get over how lucky and blessed I feel right now that our first (and only) IVF was successful.  It’s surreal.  It’s amazing.  It’s so freakin’ cool.

I have 247 days left to go until our estimated due date of April 26th!

How is it possible that I’m 4 weeks and 5 days pregnant already?  Well, your pregnancy technically starts at the first day of your last period, and mine was July 20th.  Isn’t the crazy?  I never even knew that until just a few days ago…

Today, our baby is the size of an poppy seed.  It’s starting to form major organs like the heart, kidneys, livers, and stomach –and– systems like the nervous, circulatory, and digestive systems.  I’ve started noticing these stretching sensations, and I hear that it’s my uterus stretching out, preparing for the baby to take up more room.  Neat!  I have to pee all the time (last night I had the pleasure of getting up not once, but twice, in the middle of the night, which was AWESOME), and I’m exhausted.  I went to bed at 8 o’clock last night for God’s sake!  The nausea that I was feeling last week has seemed to disappear (for now), which is really great – I finally have my appetite back, but no cravings yet.  And the major thing I’ve noticed is the EXTREME bloat in my belly, especially at night – I don’t know if that’s leftover IVF meds bloat, or what, but it’s weird.  I already “look” pregnant, which of course, I think is really cool!

Kerry

4 Responses to “I’m 4 weeks and 5 days pregnant today!”

  1. Tara said

    tee hee…just wait. 😉

  2. Noell said

    Hello little apple seed(s)!! I really hope you don’t have “morning sickness” but just in case it strikes again I would eat as much of your favorites foods now while you can stomach them! AHHHHHH….can I just say again, I am so happy for you!!

  3. Keri said

    Kerry – man, I go to Grand lake for one measely weekend and miss the BIGGEST NEWS EVER!!
    Congratulations, I am thrilled for you guys… WOO HOO!!
    (todds_wife) – Keri

Leave a Reply

