So…(long)

August 21, 2008

…our stork has been found!  Let me tell you the story about yesterday…

I was DYING all day – I really thought I wasn’t pregnant.  All of a sudden, all of my “symptoms” just disappeared into thin air.  No nausea, no sore boobs, no cramping, nothing.  I was TERRIFIED that the call we were waiting for was going to be a sad one.  Looking back, I think it was probably adrenaline, or something, that was keeping me from feeling the things I’ve been feeling for almost a week. 

The day went by so s-l-o-w.  We were moving locations at work, so most of the morning was spent sitting around waiting for our computers and other belongings to be delivered to our new locations so that we could set up.  That made for some downtime that I just didn’t need – I needed to be busy, to not have time to think about everything, you know?  Anyway, we finally got our computers set up, and I got back to work.  Then, work was s-l-o-w…the phones weren’t ringing, I wasn’t getting any emails (other than good luck wishes from my friends), and that made for more downtime that I didn’t need.

Thankfully, work picked up at about 3 o’clock, which totally made my last hour go by super fast.  I hauled ass outta there at 4, hit some traffic, and got home at about 5.  Then,  all I had to do was wait for Jeff to get home.  So I waited.  And waited some more.  Jesus, where the hell was he, I thought.  So, I finally turned my phone on and sent him a text.  He had just left the Park and Ride (he takes the light rail to work), and it was 5:40!!!!  Dude!  I just wanted to kick his ass, and just might have, had I not been so excited to see him.

Then, we listened to the message from the nurse together.  It was awesome.  We had to listen to it twice just to make sure we were hearing things correctly.  …pregnant…399…first ultrasound…  It was so surreal.  After Jeff and I listened to the message from the nurse (twice), he grabbed me and just held me really tight.  He said, “fucking finally,” I laughed, and we got a little emotional.  Then we were done.  I don’t think it has quite hit us yet…  The nurse said that our hCG beta hormone level went from 153 on Sunday to 399 yesterday, which is amazing.  She also said my progesterone was really good, at 237.  She also said that I needed to call in today to make an appointment for our FIRST ULTRASOUND – eeeeek (they still haven’t returned my call, so I have no idea when this will be – argh)!!!!  That will be where we find out if there are one or two babies in there (Jeff’s bet is on two, mine is on one).  I’m so psyched to FINALLY have an ultrasound where they aren’t just looking at an empty uterus.  It’s been a long time coming…

If there’s just one baby, our due date is April 26, 2009.  We are going to have an April baby!!!!  Not that we planned it this way (AT ALL), but this will be PERFECT, because my least favorite season is summer, and I won’t be pregnant during the summer, aside for the next few weeks.  I can bundle my body, belly and all, up in warm winter clothes, and go for nice walks and breathe in the fall and spring air.  At Christmastime, I’m FINALLY going to have a little baby bump in family pictures, and I won’t even care if “this sweater makes me look fat” because I’ll be pregnant!  Can you tell I’m just a little bit excited???

Of course, we realize that we aren’t out of the woods yet.  Something could happen, and we could lose this baby (or babies).  I’m being realistic about this (sorry honey), but I’m going to try to put it so far into the back of my mind that I don’t even think about it.  I do have a clotting disorder (MTHFR, doesn’t it look like “mother fucker”?), so they will really need to monitor me closely, as women with MTHFR have a higher percentage of a mid-term miscarriage than women without a clotting disorder do.  But, again – I’m not worried.  Infertility took control of my life for far too long – I’m certainly not going to let another fear/medical condition take control now that we’ve come this far!

After we found out the big news, we went over to Marty and LeAnn’s (Jeff’s brother and his wife) to celebrate.  On the way there, I called my mom and dad, and then my sister.  My mom and dad were both so excited – my mom just kept saying “cool” – I think she was at a loss for words.  My dad just thought it was really neat that he was finally going to be a grandpa.  It was cute.  I’ve been waiting for a long time to tell my parents this news, but I think my mom’s been waiting longer…she already has baby/kid stuff that she’s picked up on sale or at garage sales in the downstairs bedroom closet.  My sister was ecstatic, too, she was really nervous because she hadn’t heard from me, and it was getting late, but I asked her if it was worth the wait, to which she exclaimed “YES”!!!!! 

We walked into Marty & LeAnn’s to glasses of pink champagne and sparkling cider for me, it was so great!  Hona the dog jumped up on me when we walked in the door, and I told her to watch out so that she “doesn’t hurt the baby” and everyone just breathed a sigh of relief.  There were tears shed (thanks a lot, Art!), and hugs given, and it was everything I had ever hoped it to be!  Marty and Jeff cooked a great dinner of crab legs, filets, and chicken breasts, and then we had some of the best deserts ever, all from Tony’s Meat Market (thank you for picking all of that up, Sue!).  I got to spend some quality time with my nephew, Asher, before he went to bed, and then LeAnn let me go through some of her old maternity clothes that I will need in a few months (or sooner if this bloat doesn’t go down)!  It was a fantastic way to spend our first evening as a “family of three (or more)”!

While we were at Marty & LeAnn’s, I got a phone call from my cycle buddy, Lanie, who announced that she was pregnant, too!  Her beta was through the roof at 817 (I DEFINITELY think there are two in there)!!!  This just made my day so much sweeter knowing that I will have a friend to go through this with.  We’re still trying to figure out how our due dates are a day apart when we had our egg retrievals on the same day, but we don’t really care – WE’RE PREGNANT!!!!!

Thank you so very much for everyone who called, emailed, text messaged, and blog stalked throughout our IVF journey.  I will try to answer all of the emails and return all of the calls this weekend while Jeff is in Las Vegas.  This is only the beginning.  We will be keeping you all posted on the baby (or babies), and our progress as far as this pregnancy goes.  We cannot WAIT to show you our baby’s first ultrasound, we cannot WAIT to tell you the first time I feel the baby (or babies) move, and we really can’t wait for April to hurry up and get here so we can start this next, super exciting chapter of our lives! 

Kerry

21 Responses to “So…(long)”

  1. Penny said

    That totally brought tears my eyes. Congrats again Kerry!

  2. Stacey said

    Congrats Kerry and Jeff! We hope that you have a happy and healthy 9 months of pregnancy. 🙂

  3. Brenda said

    Yay yay yay! That is all I can keep saying. I am so happy for you. Here’s to a happy and healthy 9 months for you!!

  4. Stacy said

    Wow! Nicely written – I also have tears. Congratulations to you both. Your going to be a mom and a dad – yay!

  5. Brenda said

    I am so, so happy for you two! That totally brought tears to my eyes. I’m sure it will all start to really feel real when you see that little bean (or beans!) in just a few weeks. 🙂

  6. Marci said

    Oh Kerry – I am just so happy for you! This is so great! Congrats again!

  7. ehiwv said

    it’s a good thing i’m not wearing mascara because i would totally kick your ass for making it run all over my face. damn you for making me cry. again!

  8. DeAnna said

    What wonderful news! Super duper gigantic congratulations!

  9. shawnandlarissa said

    What a wonderful post! Congrats again!

  10. Dad said

    Well, your mom has started—-pulling baby stuff purchased over many years out of storage. If this keeps up, we’ll be able to move into a house half the size of the one we’re in 🙂

    Love, Dad

  11. Kellie (Bob) said

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!! Way to go!! I’m really happy for you guys. I’m personally keeping my fingers crossed for 2 sarcastic, Whopper loving boys named Dan. Cheers!

  12. Joe & Lorraine said

    We are so very excited for you two. We hope you have a healthy 9 months of pregnancy. Congrats Mommy & Daddy to be!

  13. Felicia said

    Yay!!! I think the first ultrasounds are usually around 6 weeks, so that’s not too far away. I hope the nurse calls you back soon so you can find out when it is!

  14. Auntie Barb said

    Well, I never knew what a blog was until you emailed me the site and now I check yours everyday! I have known Jeff since he was in Sue’s womb (hope that doesn’t gag you) and I am so very happy for both of you. God had a plan and he just wanted you to wait and test your patience. CONGRATS!!! I’m betting on two healthy babies. Love to you both!

  15. Ann said

    So, so happy for you! I am in tears!

  16. Robin said

    What a wonderful day!! This is so amazing! I can’t wait to hear about your first US!!!

  17. Angelika said

    Such incredibly wonderful news – I have read that post twice just because I LOVE reading that you are pregnant. KNOCKED UP! WITH CHILD! Whatever you wanna call it! 🙂

  18. Melissa said

    Beautiful beautiful beautiful!!!

  19. Kresha said

    CONGRATS!!!!! I am so excited for both of you and Im with Jeff, my vote is for twins and April Bday that will be one cool kid(s) because you know April bdays are the best.

  20. Angie said

    I was like a little baby reading this! WOO HOO

  21. Noell said

    I am so EXCITED for you Kerry (& Jeff)!! I knew this would be it for you! I have been waiting to tell you congratulations and a very happy & healthy 9 months!! You are going to make great parents!!

Leave a Reply

