The Pink Rose Award

August 18, 2008

Winner, winner chicken dinner!!!!

I won an award!

I am so honored to be receiving the Pink Rose Award.  The Pink Rose Award is something out here in the blogosphere that a recipient gets because he or she has inspired someone (or needs to be inspired), or because they’ve encouraged someone in some way.  My good friend Tarah nominated me for the award, and I’m seriously so touched – the words she wrote about me brought tears to my eyes…

Since being nominated, I would like to take this time to nominate several people who inspire and amaze me on a daily basis, so without further adieu…

Tarah has been through a LOT in the last few years, and still manages to make it through each day with grace, humor, and what I love the most about her, sarcastic wit.  I am so lucky to have met her through the Nest, and even more lucky to have met her in person, especially since she lives in Omaha!  My sis, Kristy, and I met up with her and Angel for cocktails and dinner one night while I was visiting, and it was a blast!  Tarah is one genuine girl -and gorgeous inside and out, and I’m so glad that we created a bond that won’t soon be broken.  You know what else I love about her?  She has impeccable taste in fashion, but would never be embarrassed hanging out with a girl who wears Crocs on a daily basis – now that’s a true friend!

Lanie is not only my “cycle buddy”, but a person who I’ve come to be good friends with.  She and I had our egg retrievals on the same day, only the eggs were being removed from her step-sister, and not her.  We have had our betas on the same day, and will find out that we ARE PREGNANT on the same day – this Wednesday, August 20th.  I cannot imagine going through IVF with the added stress of using donor eggs, but Lanie always handles herself with dignity and grace (even under pressure).  She and I have encouraged each other, and she always seems to put a positive spin on things, even when things are looking a little iffy.  I really admire that about her.  I am really looking forward to having someone (other than Jeff) to share my pregnancy with, and couldn’t think of a more fun person to be pregnant with!

Ivory is a real inspiration.  First of all, she didn’t come hunt me down and kick my ass when I was bitching about being on bed rest for a few days, considering she spent over half of her pregnancy on bed rest, even spending weeks in the hospital (which is where I first met her, by the way).  Secondly, she has taken a really scary situation (having a baby 11 weeks early) and turned it into the most beautiful thing ever (being a kick ass mom to an adorable, happy, healthy five month old daughter).  Throughout her ordeal (and yes, it WAS an ordeal), I always wondered where she got her strength, because although she would crumble every once and a while (who wouldn’t in her situation), she always carried herself with such dignity and confidence that you would think that she had done this before.  She is what I aspire to be one day to my son or daughter, and I am very thankful for our friendship.

Are you wondering how to pass this award on?

1. On your blog, copy and paste the award, these rules, a link back to the person who selected you, and a link to this post: http://smartone.typepad.com/smartone/2008/05/pink-is-my-favo.html. You will find the story behind the Pink Rose Award and other graphics to choose from there.
2. Select as many award recipients as you would like, link to their blogs (if they have one), and explain why you have chosen them.
3. Let them know that you have selected them for an award by commenting on one of their posts.
4. If you are selected, pass it on by giving the Pink Rose Award to others.
5. If you find that someone you want to nominate has already been selected by someone else, you can still honor them by posting a comment on their award post stating your reasons for wishing to grant them the award.
6. You do not have to wait until someone nominates you to nominate someone else.

Kerry

 

2 Responses to “The Pink Rose Award”

  1. Tarah said

    Thanks Kerry! Reading what you wrote about me (and the other wonderful ladies) brought tears to my eyes.

    I wish I could wrap my arms around you and give you a RL (real life) hug. One good thing about IF – is the friendships that I have made.

    Thank you again for everything. Seriously!

    Much love,

    Tarah
    XoXoX

  2. Kymberli said

    Congratulations on your award, Kerry, and thanks for passing it along! I’ve added you and your nominees to the list of recipients that I’ve been keeping on my blog! I love all of the details that you’ve given about why the women you’ve chosen are so special to you! I can see why you’ve selected them!

Leave a Reply

