EEEEEEEEEEEKKKKKKKKKK!!!!!

August 8, 2008

No, this isn’t Jeff (although he may want to scream like a little girl right about now, too), LOL!  It’s Kerry, and I just cannot believe that the day we’ve been waiting for the last three years is almost here (in fact, it’s only about 17 hours away).  Ho-ly cow.  I think it’s just starting to hit me.  Eeeeeeeeeeekkkkkk!!

So, I’ll tell you a little bit about what we’ll be doing tomorrow…

We will be going in around 9:45 tomorrow morning to meet with an acupuncturist (not my acupuncturist, Carol, but one who works with Conceptions patients).  I will be doing pre and post-embryo transfer acupuncture because several big studies have shown that it’s been proven to increase pregnancy rates, and we can take all the “extra help” we can get!  The pre-transfer acupuncture is done to calm the patient, decrease contractions in the uterus, and set the body to be able to “relax” while the transfer is being performed.  The post-transfer acupuncture is used to help calm the patient and decrease inflammation in the pelvic region afterwards.  In my age group, 86% of this particular acupuncture group’s patients became pregnant, so that’s pretty cool!

The actual embryo transfer will be around 11 a.m.  It’s a relatively short procedure where they will place our embryos in a small Teflon catheter that will be passed through my cervix directly into my uterus.  The embryologist has told us that she will place three air bubbles in the catheter.  The reason they do this is because our RE, Dr. Swanson, will be using an ultrasound wand (that will be placed on my lower abdomen by a nurse) and a computer monitor to actually see what he’s doing inside me.  When he inserts the catheter, and it reaches the point it needs to be in my uterus, he will “pull the trigger” so to speak.  First, we will see the first air bubble come out (onto the computer monitor) – this will tell us that the process has begun.  The embryos, there will be two of them placed inside me, will be placed between the other two air bubbles, so when the next air bubble pops up on the screen, we will know Embryo #1 is in!  Isn’t that cool?  Finally, when the last air bubble pops up, we will know Embryo #2 is in!  Then, the embryologist will take the catheter back to the lab and look at it under the microscope to make sure that it’s empty, before I can get my feet out of those stirrups. 

After the transfer, I will get the post-transfer acupuncture done, and then we’ll be on our way!  It’s that complex simple.  One of our other good friends, Mike, will be there tomorrow – filming the whole thing, so I’m super stoked about that (I cannot WAIT to see the footage of both the retrieval and the transfer, it will be soooooo cool)!

Then, Jeff will take me home and I’ll be on a few days of bed rest, so if anyone wants to stop by and say “hi”, just let me know!  I’d love to have visitors, and I’m sure Jeff will welcome having a little break from waiting on me hand and foot!

Oh, and the important part – we won’t find out if this worked until August 20th.  And we won’t update the blog until we’ve had a chance to tell our close friends and family.  I know.  I don’t know how we’re going to do that either…

Jeff will update tomorrow when we get back, wish us luck!!!  Thanks again to everyone for their love and support!

Kerry

9 Responses to “EEEEEEEEEEEKKKKKKKKKK!!!!!”

  1. Cathy said

    Good luck tomorrow! I’ll be thinking about you!

  2. Lillian said

    Ditto Cathy – I’ll be thinking of you!

  3. Robin said

    Hey Kerry. I might be able to stop by on Sunday, but I forgor how to get to your house. Can you email you info and your phone number and I can give you a call on Sunday is I can stop by! Good luck tomorrow!! My email is rlhughes29@yahoo.com

  4. Robin said

    Sorry for the bad spelling. I have no idea how that happened! lol

  5. Erica said

    I will be thinking of you two tomorrow! Good luck, Kerry (and Jeff)!!!

  6. Lanie & Shane said

    You will be in our thoughts all day. Sending you both lots and lots of love . . .

  7. Jaime said

    My thoughts and prayers are with you guys! Can’t wait until the 20th!!!

  8. ischwab said

    GOOD LUCK!!! I am so super excited for you too and I can’t wait to hear your good news!!!

  9. Sara said

    Sending lots of good thoughts your way!!

Leave a Reply

