I’ve felt better…

August 4, 2008

…but I’ve certainly felt worse, too.  I didn’t really expect to still be feeling crampy and sore (especially when I pee – ouchie), but I have done some reading up on what to expect after an egg retrieval, and this is completely normal.  I have really done a good job taking it easy today, and Jeff has been a wonderful little helper, go-getter, and do-what-I-say’er today.  I just love my husband so much.  I couldn’t feel more lucky today, and let me tell you why…

First of all, we got 16 eggs.  16 eggs!!!!  We were elated when the embryologist gave us the final count, because this means we have a really good chance of a few of the embryos (yes, they are embryos now that the sperm and egg have done their thing) will make it to be put back where they belong.  I never really let on, but I was a little bit nervous that (1) I would wake up during the procedure and feel everything and/or (2) I would wake up afterwards and they would tell us that they didn’t get any eggs.

Secondly, our good friends, Joe and Jenny, were there with us during our procedure this morning.  Joe was filming the entire thing, and I just cannot WAIT to see the finished product.  I am really excited about this documentary they are doing, and feel so honored that they asked us to be a part of it.  They are wonderful friends, and we are so blessed to have them, as well as the rest of our kick ass friends, in our lives.

I will be on to update the blog as soon as we get the fertilization report from the embryologist tomorrow late morning/early afternoon, so keep thinking good thoughts for our little embies!

Kerry

8 Responses to “I’ve felt better…”

  1. Jaime said

    Glad to hear it all went well. Go embies go!

  2. Lanie said

    Grow embies, grow!

  3. Kate said

    So glad the ER went well….Can’t wait to hear the count later today!

  4. Angel said

    OMG! 16! Whoo Hoo! Congratulations… I am proud of you two.

  5. Larissa said

    What an awesome thing to get on film

  6. Tarah said

    I’m so glad that the ER went so well. Take care, buddy and know that we’re all here for you on this exciting journey.

  7. Tara said

    You know what you’ll be writing about soon? How much it hurts to pee after you have your baby. 🙂

  8. Joe & Lorraine said

    We are so very excited for you. 16 eggs – that is so great! We can’t wait to hear the update.

Leave a Reply

