1 down, 1 to go

August 4, 2008

We successfully made it through the egg retrieval and Kerry is home resting.  The doctor was able to get 16 eggs out which is really good.  Not all of them will be viable but they expect to have 80% of them to fertilize.  My sample\specimen was not so great it turns out.  While it is a little disappointing, they have an option for us which is called ICSI.  Instead of letting the sperm naturally enter the egg (in a petri dish, so i guess that isn’t “natural” but you get the point) they take 1 sperm and inject it directly into the egg.  This is a more accurate way and technically gives a higher percentage.  Sorry for the extreme details but at this point I\we are not shy about any of this.

Kerry handled the procedure really well.  She remembers everything up until just before the doctor came in the room.  The anesthesiologist did his job well, he first gave Kerry a little cocktail that numbed her up a bit but didn’t put her out.  As soon as he put the real stuff in the line she was out.  As soon as the procedure was done, she woke up and was a little confused at first.  I’m not sure she realized at first that everything was done and she asked a few times what all happened but other than that she did awesome.

Please ignore the wife's expression, she was still a little loopy...

Please ignore the wife's expression, she was still a little loopy...

Kerry will continue to rest up for the next couple of days and start a new round of meds in a few days as well.  We will be getting a call tomorrow and the Wednesday from the embryologist letting us know the embryos are doing and if we will be doing a 3 day or 5 day transfer.  We are hoping for a 5 day as it means that the embryos split\formed the way they are supposed to and are in the best shape possible.

I forgot to mention 1 thing.  We had a video camera present for the entire process.  Our friends (Joe, Jenny and Mike) own a video productions company and are doing a documentary on the many options\struggles couples face in terms of having children.  Anyway, Joe and Jenny did interviews with each of us before we went in and then Joe came in to record Kerry and I getting ready for the procedure, the entire procedure and then Kerry in recovery.  It sounds a little weird and it probably would have been had we not known them but it is going to be awesome.  I can’t speak for Kerry, but for me, I almost forgot that he was there recording.  You are not even thinking about it during the procedure.

I don’t want to make this a sales site for their company, but if anyone is interested in joining in on the documentary to share your story, let Kerry and I know and we can get you in touch with them.  Joe and Mike are great friends of mine for the last 14 years or so and Jenny (Joe’s wife) is awesome.  If you were to meet them you would understand their genuine interest in the documentary and it may not seem so weird.

Thank you everyone for your support.

Jeff

14 Responses to “1 down, 1 to go”

  1. Sarah said

    I’m sending up so many prayers for some beautiful embies for you guys. Hugs to you both (and as Kerry can attest to, I don’t even LIKE hugs)!!!! Thank you for keeping all of us Nosy Nesties posted!

  2. Marci said

    Thanks for keeping us updated! I’ll keep sending lots and lots of healthy happy ready-to-be-implanted embryo juju your way!!!

  3. Roxy said

    Hooray for the nice number of eggs. I hope that Kerry starts to feel better and gets a bit of belief from her giant ovaries soon.

  4. Angelika said

    That’s an AWESOME number of eggs. Congratulations you guys! Kerry, please take good care of yourself, and let me know if you need anything!

  5. Tarah said

    Thanks for updating us. I’m so glad that everything went well. Just reading about it brought tears to my eyes.

    I’m cheering you guys on and hoping for a good report and some snow babies. C’mon little embies – you have tons of people cheering for you and we want you to make a nice home in Kerry’s tummy for the next 9 months.

    ::::Cheers:::: Here’s to a 5 transfer. (I have everything crossed for you two)

  6. Katie said

    I’m so glad Kerry came thru it well. I think the video idea is amazing and would be an awesome thing to offer to other couples struggling with IF as well!

  7. Beth M said

    Yay! I’m so glad everything is coming along and I’m now praying for a 5 day! Please LMK if it would be ok to call?

  8. Kristin said

    So glad today went well. I think the video is a great idea. That way you can show your kiddo someday how loved and wanted she/he was from the very start. And Kerry will get to see how awesome the moment was since she had to be under anesthesia. All the best to you guys this week as you wait for the news.

  9. Beth K said

    16 is a great number! Keeping my fingers crossed for good fertilization now X X X X <— that’s my crossed fingers & toes 🙂

    also… you can give my name to your friends if they want some adoption stuff in there doc – we could talk about it…

  10. Cathy said

    16 sounds great! I hope the numbers stay strong!

  11. Kellie (Bob) said

    I haven’t had a chance to e-mail you yet but I am really wishing for the best for you guys and that this is fianlly the answer to your prayers. I really can’t imagine all you’ve been through or how you feel but I do read your blog religiously and keep my fingers crossed.

  12. Molly said

    I’m just so excited for you two! I know all will go well and here’s hoping for a 5 day transfer!!

  13. Lanie said

    You guys know how much I’m pulling for you. Want me to say “hi” to the kiddos if I squeeze in a driveby?

  14. Alesha said

    Hi Jeff and Kerry,
    I found your Blog and have been keeping up on it. Congrats on everything thus far. We went through IVF too and are now doing a FET for baby #2 (IVF #1 gave us a son). I wouldn’t mine sharing our story with your friends. You can email me and let me know.

    aleshamarkus at hotmail dot com

Leave a Reply

