T minus 18 hours – The egg retrieval

August 3, 2008

So, tomorrow is the big day.  The EGG RETRIEVAL.  Holy crap, I almost can’t believe I’m typing this out right now, it seems so surreal.  A quick rundown of what will happen tomorrow, as I’m still feeling like complete poo, and just want to crawl back into bed and sleep…

9:00 a.m. – We will check in at the clinic, and will meet with the RE (Dr. A) who will be doing the retrieval (not Dr. Swanson, as he doesn’t work on Mondays), as well as our embryologist.  I will be under intravenous anesthesia when the retrieval is performed, so I’m sure they’ll hook me up sometime between 9-9:30, when the ER is to begin.

9:30 a.m. – The egg retrieval is a minor surgical procedure where Dr. A will insert a small, hollow needle (with a long, narrow tube attached to the end) directly into each of my ovaries.  There will be a nurse assisting Dr. A, who will have an ultrasound wand on my lower abdomen, so that the doctor will be able to watch on a monitor, as he guides the needle into each one of my follicles with ease.  When the needle goes into each follicle, the doctor will extract the fluid inside each follicle, and hopefully that fluid will contain an egg.  Dr. A will then hand the fluid-filled tube to Sherri, our embryologist, and she will look for the egg, and put it in a sterile, liquid-filled dish.  Our friends who have gone through this say that this is a really cool part, as the embryologist will verbalize if and when she finds an egg in each tube of fluid.  I’m so bummed that I won’t be awake for this part!

10-10:30 a.m. – The procedure should be done by now, and I will go into recovery for about a half hour.  Jeff will then have to go to the “special room” to produce his sample that will ultimately end up fertilizing my eggs.

I will be on bed rest for 2-3 days after the retrieval, depending on what the doctor says.  And on Tuesday, Sherri will call Jeff and I to let us know how our embryos are doing (how many made it overnight, because chances are, they all won’t). 

Jeff will be on tomorrow to update the blog and let everyone know how many eggs we got.  Thank you again to EVERYONE for your love and support – we couldn’t do this without being backed up by so much love and positive energy!!!

Kerry

28 Responses to “T minus 18 hours – The egg retrieval”

  1. Angie said

    I am so excited that all of this is finally happening for you guys!! I will be praying hard all day tomorrow.

  2. Sara said

    YEAH!! I will be sending lots of good thoughts, prayers, juju etc. your way tomorrow!

  3. Lillian said

    WAHOO!!! I can’t believe it’s already here:) Thanks so much for all that you’ve shared of your journey so far – it’s been incredibly enlightening and inspiring. I will be thinking of you both tomorrow and hope that everything goes absolutely amazingly!!

  4. Brenda said

    Yay! I seriously got teary eyed reading your post. I am so, so excited for you. Good luck tomorrow!

  5. Sandie and John said

    We have been following your journey and reading your blog pretty much on a daily basis. Well, I’ve been reading the entries and then blabbing to John all about it. I’m super excited for you and Jeff. We always wish you the best and our thoughts will be with you on the big day, tomorrow! Hope you’re able to sleep a little tonight.

  6. Angelika said

    EEEK! I just got all tingly with excitement. Take GOOD care of yourself Kerry!

  7. ehiwv said

    i got goosebumps reading this. it is so exciting. i will be thinking of you tomorrow and sending tons of love your way. i can’t wait to hear all about it.

  8. Lisa said

    I will be thinking about you two tomorrow. I am sending JuJu that all goes well. Good luck Kerry, and Jeff. Gooo Eggies!

  9. Katie said

    lots of prayers and good wishes your way for tomorrow morning!

  10. Melissa said

    I’m so excited for you guys!!! Hugs and Prayers!

  11. prnceswife said

    I’m so excited for you, and I will be thinking of you tomorrow!

  12. Jaime said

    I am all caught up on the blog now and love it! Thanks for sharing everything and we will be thinking of you all day tomorrow. This is so exciting!Keep us posted!

  13. Peggy said

    When you’re at the doctors, I’ll be in the Mountains checking water – and thinking of all the neat places there I could take little grandson(s) and/or granddaughter(s)! Love – and for now – virtual hugs!

  14. Cathy said

    Good luck tomorrow!

  15. Tara said

    I love you guys! Best of luck tomorrow and in the coming days!!!!!!!!!!!

  16. Shannon(Shannie79) said

    Good luck tomorrow!!!

  17. Kate said

    All the best!! My fingers and toes are all crossed for you!

  18. Robin said

    Good luck Kerry! I am so excited for you!!

  19. Sarah said

    I just looked at the clock and noticed it’s 9:31! I hope things are going well!!!

  20. Debbie said

    Hey!!! Just got caught up on your blog. So excited for the both of you. You will both be in my thoughts. Talk to you soon!

  21. Kristin said

    I’m thinking of you guys right now. I hope there are lots of good, strong, ready-to-become-a-baby eggs.

  22. Beth M said

    Hoping and praying, love you both, can’t wait for an update!!!

  23. Andrea said

    According to my clock you should be recovering now! Rest up and feel good! I can’t wait to hear about all of your lovely eggs 🙂

  24. Chrissy said

    Hope everything went great this morning! I am so excited to hear all about how things went.

  25. Angel said

    Good Luck today. I am thinking about you both and sending every bit of positive energy I have your way.

  26. Erica said

    I hope everything went perfectly today! I cannot believe that it’s here already. I will be (and have been) praying so hard for you and Jeff (and L & T).

  27. Tarah said

    I know I’m late, but I was thinking about you today. Hope you’re resting up and doing ok.

  28. My fellow on Orkut shared this link and I’m not dissapointed at all that I came here.

Leave a Reply

