Storytime Wednesday

July 30, 2008

I’ve always liked the Dixie Chicks, but this just sealed the deal for me.  It’s a great article, and a short read if you have a few minutes.  Granted, it’s not my story – but it very well could be in a few short weeks…

http://www.conceiveonline.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=71&Itemid=148

I love the quote from Emily, one of the members of the group who struggled with infertility for two years, “In the beginning I felt such a stigma about it, but then I found out how many people are affected by infertility, and what a beautiful thing it is that there’s this technology and science out there to help couples have children. The more people talk about it, the less stigma there is. I never want anyone to feel that it’s not as beautiful a way to have a child as any other.”

I just thought you all would enjoy this.

Kerry

4 Responses to “Storytime Wednesday”

  1. ehiwv said

    thanks for sharing, that is a great article. i love the dixie chicks too.

  2. Molly S said

    Thank you so much for sharing this! I love the Dixie Chicks and this makes me love them even more. I appreciate that they recognize that not everyone is lucky enough to be able to afford to do 4 rounds of IVF to get pregnant.
    Keeping hanging in there – I think about you all the time!

  3. Brenda said

    What a great article! I had no idea that they both used IVF.

  4. Lanie said

    I love the DC! Did you see their movie, “Shut up and sing”? They play the song in the movie and they talk about their experiences with infertility. Of course, there is much more to the movie than that (it was filmed during the whole Bush controversy). And I love that too.

    : )

Leave a Reply

