Appointment update #1

July 28, 2008

Thank you so much for all of the great, supportive comments and emails – my ovaries, Jeff, and I really appreciate them!  =)  The ultrasound/follie scan went pretty good, I had 8 follicles on my right ovary, and 6 on my left.  I will know more later this afternoon when the nurse calls me with the results of my blood test (where they are checking my estrogen level to make sure it’s rising like it should be). 

A brief reproductive lesson to catch you all up to what exactly all of this means…

These “stim (or superovulatory) drugs” that I’ve been taking since Friday are basically designed to stimulate my ovaries to produce more than the one egg per cycle that my body usually releases.  Multiple eggs (oocytes), of course, increase the potential availability of multiple embryos (fertilized eggs) for our transfer, and will ultimately increase the probability of IVF working for us.

And what exactly are these “follicles” (or follies for short) that I keep talking about?  Follicles are fluid-filled cysts (the good kind) of the ovaries that contain one, or sometimes multiple eggs.  The follicles get bigger as the egg(s) mature, and that’s why I have to go in for ultrasounds every few days.  The nurses track their development, mostly to see if I need to increase or decrease my medication because they are growing too slow or too fast.

When (most of the) the follicles are mature, they will schedule the egg retrieval (ER).  Thirty-six hours before the ER, Jeff will give me a “trigger shot”, which is basically just an injection that will “trigger” ovulation to occur.  I will then go to the clinic, where my RE will insert a small, hollow needle into my ovaries (BEFORE I ovaulate) and extract the fluid-filled follicles, which should now all (hopefully) contain a perfect little egg.

Does that make more sense now as to why I’m doing what I’m doing, and why I have to be monitored so closely?  I hope so!  And please let me know if any of you have questions that either Jeff or I can answer – both of us are more than happy to do so!

I’ll update more later this afternoon…

Kerry

12 Responses to “Appointment update #1”

  1. Molly said

    Good numbers! Grow follies grow!!

  2. Tarah said

    Good news, buddy!! I am so happy that you’re responding well…it sounds very promising. 🙂

    Also, I must have left my email open at home. I can’t check it from work if you sent it to the cox account. 😦 I’ll check it when I get home and write you back.

    I’m so happy for you and have good thoughts and feelings about this cycle for you. 🙂

  3. Larissa said

    Good numbers! Sounds like everything’s going well. ER is just around the corner!

  4. Angelika said

    So does this mean you cold possibly have fourteen-lets? Ha, ha. Just kidding. 😛

    Those sound like great #s Kerry – it won’t be long now!

  5. Melissa said

    14 sounds promising! Hope you are feeling better – lots hugs and prayers for you guys!

  6. Peggy said

    Hi Dear One,
    Between you and the comments, we’ll all get an education. Even with the info, it’s almost impossible to comprehend unless you are going through it. I’m really glad you have the on-line forums. The rest of us can wish you well but I think only those who are also going through it really know understand what the drugs do to you (although you give really good (?) graphic descriptions!) and all the technology involved. And it’s nice to see you so supportive of each other!

    Love you much, Mom

  7. Sarah said

    Oh my, your poor little body is working so hard!!! Grow little follies (and eggies), groooooow!

  8. Ann said

    Sounds like multiples to me 🙂

  9. Porche said

    Goooooooooooooooo follies!!

  10. Beth M said

    Everything is sounding great!!! I am continually hoping and praying for you and Jeff! HUGS and can’t wait to read more good news!

  11. Beth K said

    grow follies grow!!

  12. Heather said

    Wow, that was so interesting! I swear I learn something new from your blog every day! Go follies go!!!

Leave a Reply

