Winner, winner, chicken dinner!!!

July 26, 2008

I love saying that!  It’s so…dumb!

Jeff and I went to a group mind/body counseling session at our fertility clinic last night, and although I was a little apprehensive about going, I’m really glad we went.  There were four other couples there who were all in different stages of the infertility treatment process, and we were the big winners!!!  We had been trying the longest and had done the most treatments, and we were also the youngest.  :::pumps fist:::  YES!!!  Finally, we win at something.  LOL!

It was really good to hear others who are facing the same challenges and difficulties as we were, but man am I bummed out that I didn’t reach out to the couple that was sitting to our left.  They were a really sweet couple, they held hands throughout almost the entire session – you could tell they really loved each other.  Anyway, she had a high FSH, so they were in the process of considering IVF using donor eggs, but her husband was having a really hard time accepting the fact that they should be considering DE in the first place.  I just wanted to reach out and give her a huge hug, because she really looked like she needed one.  I am actually considering calling the clinic to see if they can pass along my contact information to the couple, because I bet my infertile friend (and cycle buddy), L, would be more than willing to talk with her about how she and her husband came to the decision to use donor eggs.  Maybe I’ll just do that…

The group talked about feelings towards sex, emotions, finances, and pretty much everything else in between.  Where have these sessions been the last three years?!?!?  We left the group almost two hours later, and I finally felt like I was “normal” again (whatever that means)…that’s really saying a lot these days.  The drugs have already done a number on me, and it’s only been a couple of weeks.  I have a good 7-8 more days on these things!!!!

After our group session, Jeff and I headed to our friend’s 40th birthday party.  These are my friends I met through a local message board who are a Conceptions (our fertility clinic) IVF success story.  They are (I think) 15 weeks pregnant, and just the most awesome couple ever.  It was a great party, with great conversation (I just loved her dad, he’s so CUTE), and as we were leaving, both D & C reassured us that it will get better, and to just hang in there.  I know you all think that sounds cliche, but it’s SO NICE to hear that from a couple that isn’t just blowing smoke up our asses – they know it WILL get better. 

Jeff took me out for gelato after the party, and it was sooooo good to sit outside and just talk a little bit after the rough couple of days we’ve (I’ve) had with all of my emotional outbursts.  It was funny though, we were sitting next to this couple who had to have been on their first date, and they started talking about kids.  Both Jeff and I caught bits and pieces of their conversation, and overheard that the girl said she wanted 4 kids, and the guy said he had twins in his family, so he was hoping for twins.  When we got into the car to head home, we had to laugh a little bit at the fact that some people (including us) can be so naive about the whole kid thing.  I mean, you have one plan completely mapped out in your head, including timing and how many children you will have, and then in our case, three years later, you are just hoping and praying for one.  One healthy baby would mean the world to Jeff and I, whereas several years ago I would have told you that you’re smoking crack if you think we’re having an only child.  When I made the decision to have children (after I met Jeff), I knew I would have at least two kids, because I would want nothing more than to have them have a relationship like my sister and I have.  And now, like I said, we will be happy with just one.

Kerry

5 Responses to “Winner, winner, chicken dinner!!!”

  1. Ann said

    I love reading your blog!

  2. Joe & Lorraine said

    Kerry –

    Thanks so much for sharing your stories on your website. We have enjoyed reading all of them. We hope (more than anything) that you and Jeff are able to have at least one baby (but twins would be so great)! You’re doing great so far – keep the faith (you’re almost there). We will continue to pray that God will bless you and Jeff with a baby. We are so excited for you!!!

  3. Lanie said

    If you can track down the donor egg “consider-ers” (is that a word???), I would be happy to talk to them. It’s a tough process. I mostly got through it by talking to someone who adopted someone else’s embryos (diff egg and diff sperm). Hope you are doing good. You should come over and hang out with my sister and me – you two can compare drug stories.

  4. Lanie said

    Wow, I just realized how weird the “drug” part sounds. Let me try again . . . “you two can compare fertility medication stories”. Better?

  5. Tarah said

    Kerry~

    After all you and Jeff have been through, I am so happy that you went to the group session. It sounds like it was a “good” time and you were able to connect with some new people.

    I think it is a great idea you wanted to reach out to the couple that are considering DE. Hopefully she’ll contact you and you can go from there.

    Thinking of you,

    Tarah

Leave a Reply

