A lazy what?!?!?

July 10, 2008

So, I have a lazy uterus.  Yep, you read that right.  A lazy freakin’ uterus.  WTF?  I’ll come back to that later…

Jeff and I went to the RE today for our IVF nurse consult, my SHG, and our financial consult.  Whew!  Talk about an overwhelming day (and I’m back at work, so it’s not even half over yet)!

I am soooo glad that Jeff came with me today.  The consult we had with the IVF nurse was A LOT of information.  Thankfully, Jeff has a great memory, because when it comes to these things (measuring and administering certain dosages of drugs), I’m dumb as a post.  We were given our protocol for our IVF cycle, which was both exciting and scary at the same time.  There’s a lot of drugs.  Those drugs have to be administered at certain times of the day, every day, to be the most effective.  No biggie, because we were given a handy dandy calendar to keep track of all of the dosages and times.  And I have Jeff, so that’s good.  He is my master mixologist and main “injection” man, because I’m a big old wiener who can’t handle giving myself shots.  I think he actually enjoys being able to hurt me (un)intentionally several times a day.  In fact, I’ll bet with each poke in the ass (or stomach, or thigh) he’s thinking to himself, “You want me to help with laundry?  Take that!” or “Mow the lawn right now?  Oh yeah?  How about I do THIS instead!?”  LOL!

After the nurse consult, I had a SHG.  A SHG is a sonohysterogram, which is just a simple procedure where they inject saline through the cervix into the uterus to check for uterine abnormalities (polyps, fibroids, scar tissue, etc).  Well, it should have been a simple procedure, but I have a lazy ass uterus.  Apparently, my uterus kind of “floats” to the left, so it makes it hard to inject the catheter from my cervix into my uterus.  Jesus, how many more times can I say “cervix” and “uterus”?!?!?  How about I just called them “C” and “U”?  Mmmkay?  Anyway, because of my lazy U, they had to dilate my C to make it bigger in order to get the catheter (holding the saline) into my U.  This was a little rough.  They put some sort of numbing gel on the area they were working on, but I felt a lot of pressure.  And then I got really uncomfortable when they actually did the dilating.  When I heard Dr. Swanson say, “oh no…” I kind of freaked.  Mind you, I can’t see anything because my feet are in stirrups and I’m laying down, so hearing “oh no” is a little scary.  When I asked what the problem was, I was told, “we’ve got a bleeder.”  Apparently, my C doesn’t take kindly to being dilated!  When I heard I was bleeding, I got a little woozy.  It was really warm in the room we were in, and I was nervous because I thought something was wrong.  Then, as fast as I got woozy, it was over.  Dr. S said my U looked “beautiful” and “picture perfect”.  YAY U (or yay me…)!!!!!!

Since the SHG took a little longer than expected (they had to make sure I wasn’t going to pass out or puke, or anything, since I was so light-headed, so they had me lay there for a while), we were late to our financial consult with the insurance/financial coordinator.  Oops. 

Laura (the insurance/financial coordinator) was really nice.  She outlined everything on one simple, but complex, sheet of paper, and went over all of it line-by-line for us.  This was the scary part.  The part I’ve been anxious about the last few days.  But you know…it wasn’t that bad.  I was actually kind of excited signing that paperwork, but I looked over at Jeff, and he looked a little freaked.  It’s about damn time!!!  I’ll spare you with the numbers, but the final price of what we will owe on July 24th is A LOT OF MONEY.  It’s more than what we paid for my car, and it’s more than what we ever thought we would have to spend to have children.  But it’s too late to back out now, so we’re locked in.  We’re doing this!  Holy crap. 

Side note:  I am fairly certain that Laura is pregnant, but she had a really baggy shirt to cover her bump.  I was wondering the whole time if she and her husband got pregnant on their own, or if they had a little medical intervention.  I do that all the time.  It’s actually kind of annoying.

As we stand now, we have one more day at the clinic where we meet our embryologist and do a trial transfer.  That’s next Wednesday, July 16th.  That’s the same day I begin taking Lupron, the drug that will suppress my ovaries, and prevent premature ovulation.  I cannot believe how real this all seems now…crazy.

Kerry

10 Responses to “A lazy what?!?!?”

  1. Sarah said

    What a big day!!! 🙂

  2. Molly said

    Lazy U or not – you’re on your way baby wooohoooo!

  3. lauraandlee said

    You are amazing Kerry. Your blog is on my Google reader and I look for your (and Jeff’s) updates daily. You bring tears to my eyes with every entry as I envision just how incredibly much you guys have had to go through and how inspired I am by the strength the two of you have. Thank you for sharing your journey with us.

    –Laura 🙂

  4. Katie said

    Yay for good news, even if you have a lazy U, it’s a perfect U!

  5. Robin said

    That is so exciting!! Good luck!

  6. Angie said

    I’m so glad you had a pretty uterus today!!! I was thinking of you guys this morning. Just remember we’re all here cheering you guys on.

  7. Heather said

    YAY for perfect U ‘s! I’m so glad to hear things went well today. As I like to say, everything is crossed for you! 🙂

  8. Lanie said

    Yeah for a good U! Hope the trial transfer goes well – that’s a better judge of your C. Good luck!!!

  9. Beth K said

    I find it a little rude when there are pregnant people working at an infertility clinic. I think they should be posted elsewhere until after they’ve given birth (and look like the infertiles again)… IMHO 🙂

  10. Angelika said

    Well it was the morning – maybe the U hadn’t woken up yet. Did you give her a little coffee? 🙂

    GOOD LUCK!

Leave a Reply

