“We’re in this together, Kerry”

July 5, 2008

The sweetest words from the man I love.

We went to a 4th of July party last night and hung out with friends.  We brought the dogs, so they could hang with our friend (and host of the party), Kip, and his dog, Vegas.  We ate, we drank, and Jeff lost a game of beer pong by one cup.  I had the last drink (Ace Pear Cider) that I will (hopefully) have for about the next 11 months, and it was delicious.  Around 11 p.m., I was getting sleepy and wanted to go (another night of not very much sleep the night before).  I felt bad that I wanted to leave because I knew Jeff wanted to stay, so I told him that I didn’t mind if he stayed, and I would drive home with the dogs.  He wouldn’t have anything to do with that idea because he wanted to come to my RE appointment with me today.  I told him countless times that he did not need to come with me, as I was only going in for a blood draw and ultrasound (nothing he needed to be there for), but he INSISTED that he be there with me.

“We’re in this together, Kerry.  I’m coming with you, whether you like it, or not.” 

I have to admit, it is very nice to have the never ending support and love of my husband as we go through all of this.  I know that I’m very lucky, because I’m always reading posts (in the online infertility forum I belong to) about how a lot of the women wish that their husbands were more involved and interested in the infertility treatment process.  There are some husbands that don’t even go to the egg transfer with their wives, which is something that I cannot even fathom!  I am thankful.  So thankful.  Jeff held my hand the whole way to the clinic today, and even helped to calm my fears when I was thinking about having to get several vials of blood drawn (I should be used to it by now, but I still get queasy).

The appointment went really well.  First, I had the ultrasound.  On day three of your cycle, they want to check to make sure that everything is clear (no visible ovarian cysts, etc), and they also check your antral follicle count.  Antral follicles are small, developing, egg-containing follicles, and a large number of visible antral follicles is a good predictor of how many eggs you will produce during an IVF cycle.  My count was 17, which is pretty damn good (really good is usually around 20-30).  Another reason for checking the antral follicle count is so that the RE can plan the medication dosages, and the best course of treatment for our cycle.  Then, I went in for the blood work.  Yucky.  I know for sure that they were testing my FSH (follicle stimulating hormone) levels, which is basically just my ovarian reserve – the quantity and quality of my eggs.  Last time I had it tested, I believe it was a 6 or 7, which is considered pretty good.  I think they were also testing my LH (luteinizing hormone), and estradiol levels as well.  I should have those results by Monday afternoon, and then we’ll be on our way to the next step of this exciting process!

Kerry

4 Responses to ““We’re in this together, Kerry””

  1. Beth said

    awww, I am so happy that you have such a wonderful husband!! I check this every day to see how things are going and I am out of my head excited that you are getting closer and closer!!! I love you guys!!!

  2. Angelika said

    You got a good one with Jeff. Don’t you ever let him go (I know that you won’t!)
    I am so excited for you guys. I am such a nerd – I read your blog everyday in addition to emailing you almost everyday!

  3. Lanie said

    I am so excited that your AFC was so good! It sounds like you have an awesome FSH level too. Wow, I think I should be jealous of both of those numbers. 🙂

    I can’t wait to see all of this (finally!) pan out for your two. I’ll be watching closely.

    Love, your “cycle buddy”

  4. Rachel said

    You guys are BOTH amazing!!! I’m so excited for you! (RP#’s)

Leave a Reply

