Isn’t it ironic?

July 5, 2008

Isn’t it ironic that I just took my first birth control pill in over eight years, and we’re trying to have a baby?  I had to laugh when I picked up the prescription from the pharmacy tonight.  I know the pharmacist doesn’t know me personally, but I had to think of how funny it would be if she remembered that I had picked up a prescription for fertility drugs just two months ago.  Would she be thinking, “is that girl confused, or what?”  LOL!  Too funny.

You know, when Jeff and I first got married, I was on another form of birth control, the Nuva Ring, AND I made him wear a condom.  I was TERRIFIED of getting knocked up so early on in our marriage, because I knew I wanted at least a year, or two, where it was just the two of us.  I didn’t want an “oops” baby.  If it had been up to him, we would have started trying to have kids right away – he was only 24 when we got married – but I wasn’t ready at age 27.  Can you imagine wanting kids that early?!?!  I guess I know some of you can, and I don’t mean to offend – I just really, really wanted to be ready (I’m ready now, I promise).  Sometimes I feel really guilty because I wanted to wait a while before trying – I feel like maybe if we hadn’t waited so long, we wouldn’t be having problems with it happening the “old-fashioned” way.

I know I can’t think like that, so I’ll just stop there.  The truth is, we will never know if things would have been different had we started trying earlier, so there’s no use in dwelling on it.  We have an amazing life right now – we’ve been married just shy of five years, we own a nice home in a decent neighborhood, we have two adorable doggies, and we have a terrific family and kick ass friends.  We have quite a bit to be thankful for, and although it took some time for us to realize that (because we have spent so much time focusing on the fact that we don’t have that baby we want so badly), we do realize it.  Hopefully, we will be able to complete the puzzle that is our life sometime very, very soon.

One birth control pill down, thirteen to go.  I’m so excited that this is finally happening!!!  Man, I need some new material…I’m starting to sound like a broken record.  =)

Kerry

One Response to “Isn’t it ironic?”

  1. Lanie said

    You know, being on the BCP isn’t so bad. I’m positive it looked good on my life insurance application. “See? I’m in no dangerous situations. I’m not even trying to get pregnant.” Of course, I started fertility drugs the day after my life insurance exam. : )

Leave a Reply

