When all else fails…

July 3, 2008

When all else fails, and your period is now 5 days late, take a pregnancy test.  Watch it intently for three minutes.  The first minute you will be excited about the possibility of it actually producing two lines, instead of the dreaded single line.  The second minute you will be annoyed that nothing is happening with the test, other than the pinkish color fading from the background.  Dammit!  The last minute you’re just pissed that you wasted yet ANOTHER pregnancy test, and that you actually allowed yourself to even have an ounce of hope that “this was it”.

Gosh, I just want to bang my head against a wall right now, screaming, “stupid, stupid, stupid!”  at the top of my lungs.  Don’t worry, I won’t.  I just don’t know what I was thinking.  I KNEW my period was coming – I freakin’ knew it.  Fuck.  ARGH!!!!!

Fast forward to about an hour and a half after I take the test.  My God damn period comes.  Ask, and you shall receive.  I swear to God, doctors should never give their patients progesterone to induce their periods, they should just give them home pregnancy tests.  I’ll bet you it would save them money, not to mention that peeing on a stick is a lot more desirable than shoving a progesterone suppository up your hoo ha…

I’m calling the IVF nurses at 8:30 when the office opens, so I will update when I hear back from them!

Kerry

4 Responses to “When all else fails…”

  1. Molly said

    Ahhh the progesterone suppositories… one of the “litte unknowns” about this whole process. I dreaded those stupid things every month! I’m glad AF is here and you can finally get on with this!

  2. Felicia said

    Thank God you can move on now. Can’t wait to hear what the RE says.

    I swear I induced AF with a test once too, although I didn’t have to actually use it. I was in the bathroom, test in hand, and there she was. So I guess at least I saved the money on the test that time.

  3. jkmastera said

    LMFAO, Felicia! That’s totally happened to me before, too!

  4. ppfbunny said

    Well thank goodness she finally showed – she was going for the dramatic late entrance.

Leave a Reply

