Storytime Saturday

June 28, 2008

Most of you don’t know this, but my Mom and Dad also had a really hard time getting (and staying) pregnant.  Thirty-some odd years ago there just weren’t many options for couples struggling with infertility.  That was back before the days of RE’s, IVF, and other assisted reproductive technologies.  My parents both endured their fare share of ignorant, insensitive comments from friends and family who just didn’t know any better, and when my Dad read this blog he shared an email with me that I thought was pretty funny.  Now I know where I get my sense of humor when dealing with something so very serious…

“Kerry,

I liked your “God’s will” & “crackhead baby” comments.  Sounds like
something I would say.  I can’t believe how insensitive some people can
be. Maybe you could try what your mom and I tried.

First, Jeff needs to get a job at a feedlot.  He can get there at 5:00
am to check bunks and set up the feed truck loads for when the crew
arrives at 7:00 am.  Then, at around 9:00 am, after dispensing feed to 4
feed trucks, with plenty of hungry cattle waiting for feed, you call him
and tell him “surf’s up” (like when your mom’s temp chart indicated I
should go home).  So, I run home.  We’re paying feed truck drivers to
sit in line and wait for me to get back, cattle are “moooing” for feed,
I smell like cow shit. I’m under tremendous pressure.  Ever heard the
expression, “slam, bam, thank you ma’am”?

Anyway, that’s how we got you.

Love,  Dad  (Hope the above made you laugh.  Laughter is good.)”

Yeah Dad, it made me laugh.  Hope it made some of our readers laugh, too.  Thanks! 

Kerry

4 Responses to “Storytime Saturday”

  1. ischwab said

    That is hilarious!! And quite the image 🙂

  2. jkmastera said

    Yeah, I know…something about my Mom and Dad, and “slam, bam, thank you ma’am” makes me a little queasy. The story was just too great not to share!

    K

  3. ppfbunny said

    Probably the most loving use of “S,B,thx M” I’ve ever heard – sounds like you have wonderful parents 🙂

  4. Lanie said

    Thank you for a WONDERFUL laugh!

Leave a Reply

